WMTV Channel 15, Madison, Wisconsin
Sign-Off recorded circa 1986

Page updated and modified Monday, 10 2020

Madison, the capital city of the state of Wisconsin, is also known as The City of Four Lakes. These lakes, Lake Mendota, Lake Monona, Lake Waubesa, and Lake Kegonsa, are part of the Yahara River (Madison sits on an isthmus between Lakes Mendota and Monona). Video of the lakes plays a prominent role in this sign-off clip from Madison's NBC-TV network station, which also includes scenes of downtown Madison and the Capitol Dome. This pre-recorded sign-off was brand new in 1986, for that was the year this version of the NBC-TV Peacock logo was introduced and still identifies the network today.

WMTV originally was on Channel 33 when it first took to the air in July 1953. With the approval of the FCC, the station moved to Channel 15 seven years later. WMTV telecasted from its original studio building on Forward Drive on Madison's southwest side until October 2016, when the station moved into new facilities at the same location. Its original 1953 studio bulding was demolished to make way to a parking lot soon afterwards.

RELATED VIDEO CLIP: WMTV Final Analog Sign-off from 17 February 2009

Main Page

Newest Sign-off Videos

U.S. Major Cities
Sign-off Clips

U.S. Cable Network
Sign-off Clips

States A trhu D

States F thru K

States L thru O

States P thru W

2009 U.S. TV Station
Analog Farewells

Audio Recordings of
TV Station Sign-offs

Miscellaneous Video

Support TV-Signoffs.com

Comments or questions? Email at jaw1962(AT)tv-signoffs(DOT)com

Graphics, design and description copyright 2020 by J. Alan Wall. All rights reserved.

The video files featured on TV-Signoffs.com are taken from the Webmaster's own VHS home recordings of over-the-air and cable video captures, clips contributed by others and YouTube video embeds. The quality varies from clip to clip, due to TV reception, recording and digitizing issues. Unless otherwise noted, none of the clips featured on this site have been authorized by the various television stations, networks or any other entity.